National Twinshock Championship Season Review – a quarter of a century on…

The Toughsheet National Twinshock MX Championships celebrated its 25th anniversary in style… which isn’t bad for a few phone calls back in 1992 between Alan Hardy, Ken Shuttleworth and Bill Brown.

The 2016 season had six rounds, starting over Easter at the all-weather Polesworth circuit in Staffordshire. The second round, which incorporated the Matt Murphy Memorial Meeting, was at the tough but popular Hawkstone Park venue, near Shrewsbury. From there the action moved to Gale Common, Garstang, and Warmingham Lane with the Pontrilas, Herefordshire meet dropped to one day thanks to the weather…

Over 50s champ Pete Mathia flying high on the way to a win.

Moire than 250 riders signed up for the series, with some new faces mixing it with all the regulars.


In the Bill Brown-sponsored Wulfsport Experts, Lee Holland on his all new YVMX Honda built by Andy Cleaver, put down his marker, which was to last all season, by taking all three wins at Polesworth and Hawkstone. Although he was beaten at Gale Common by reigning champion Michael Smith, Lee went on to take every other round to become the new National Twinshock champion.

Read more in the Spring 42 issue of CDB – out now!

Enjoy more Classic Dirt Bike reading in the quarterly magazine. Click here to subscribe.