This year sees the 25th anniversary of this series. Although changes have been made over the years it is still basically a championship series which allows the best riders to race against each other.

There are separate results on the day and awards down to sixth place are made at the end of the series in each of the three classes: Pre-65, Pre-68 and Pre-74.

Six rounds are planned for 2020 – all six clubs are AMCA affiliated. They are:


■ April 26: Bath Classic MCC @ Yatton Keynell, near Chippenham, Wilts.
■ June 14: Acorns MCC @ Butterton, near Newcastle-under-Lyme,Staffs.
■ July 12: Mortimer Classic MCC @ Ameys Copse, Bennetts Hill, Theale, near Reading.
■ August 9: Westmorland MCC @ Crooklands, near Kendal, Cumbria (M6 J36).
■ August 30: Moseley (Birmingham) MCC @ Clun, Shropshire (venue to be confirmed).
■ September 27: Llanthony Classic MCC @ Court Farm, Llanthony, near Abergavenny, Mon.

Essentially the series is an invitation event, but this year, in addition to regular championship competitors being invited, riders who have not ridden in the championship before (which is quite competitive and involves two eight-lap races at each meeting) and would like to ride this year can do so – as long as they have an eligible bike.

Kris Winder in action during the 2019 series.

You don’t have to commit to the whole series and formal registration is not required, but basic details needed are: name, contact details e-mail or phone number, riding number, type/cc/age of bike and club membership (if any), a week before the first round on April 26.


You can get Dave Gittins at davidgittins650@gmail.com, or on 01432 273627.

Read more News and Features in the Spring 2020 issue of Classic Dirt Bike – on sale now!

Enjoy more Classic Dirt Bike reading in the quarterly magazine. Click here to subscribe.